Christmas Book Haul 2014

After my recent lack of posts, for which I can only blame the ever-constant, ever-nagging nuisance that is A2s, I can’t help but feel that this blog has been neglected for long enough and that it is high time for me to upload some more material (although I cannot promise that my disappearing acts will not continue whilst the aforementioned ‘distraction’ is still taking priority in my life). Perhaps it is my desperation to cling onto any sentiment of festive cheer now that the only remnants of Christmas are the excessive turkey left-overs, but I have therefore decided to break myself back in gently by divulging the titles of the literary treats which I was fortunate enough to receive this year. And oh my, were there many; it seems that after 18 years my family and friends really have come to know what it takes to put a smile on my face, for it is safe to say that this Christmas saw me being gifted with the highest number of books I can remember ever receiving in one go, much to my inevitable delight:

1) All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque
2) The Nation’s Favourite Poems edited by Griff Rhys Jones
3) The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of Grimm Brothers: The Complete First Edition by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm
4) The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith
5) The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce
6) Us by David Nicholls
7) Love and Friendship and Other Early Works by Jane Austen
8) One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
9) Engleby by Sebastian Faulks
10) Classic Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Anderson
11) The Children Act by Ian McEwan
12) Wars of the Roses: Trinity by Conn Iggulden

It surely goes without saying that I simply cannot wait to while away the hours immersing myself in the varied worlds, stories and characters these books have to offer (it being even less surprising that I could not prevent myself from already making a start). I would love to hear from anyone who has already read any of these, and for any fellow fiction fanatics out there, don’t be afraid to share those works of literature which made a welcome appearance under your own trees this year!

By Rebecca.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

